Theophilus of Antioch once wrote: ‘We are called Christians because we have been anointed with the oil of God.’ Anointed means to be smeared or rubbed with. So in other words, the oil of God has been smeared all over us which is oh so amazing! But if that is what it truly means to be a Christian, then why are we all so hesitant to let the world know we’re Christians?

I’m preaching to myself because I was so hesitant to put “Christian Lifestyle Blogger” in my Instagram bio. All I could think about was the instant judgment.

“Christians are some the most heavily judged people but we are also some of the most judgmental.” – JC

I like to show my curves from time to time, high heel shoes are my first love (I have a Pinterest board dedicated to them), and I love to experiment with my hair. I know there is absolutely nothing wrong with that but I never want people to think that I’m playing around with God. No one has ever said any of this to me but it’s just something I’ve been going back and forth with for the past week. Those tiny thoughts placed so much fear on my shoulders and brought all of that momentum I had regarding this blog to a halt.

Then I saw this:

screenshot_20170415-142556.png

And in that moment I realized this was just a test.

We have placed ourselves and our peers into man-made boxes with all of these rules and regulations for what a person with an intimate relationship with Christ should look and act like. But the most important word in that sentence was man-made. So stop worrying about what “they” will say and focus on what God has to say. If He approves, then who cares about what anyone else has to say. Are “they” going to get you into Heaven?

Think about it. God sent His one and only son to die for OUR sins. OUR sins. There’s no way in the world God did all of that just so we could go around condemning ourselves and others. He also didn’t make us all different just so we could somehow all transform into the same person.

He did it because He loves us. He made that sacrifice because He LOVES us. I said love[s] and not love[d] because, as you may know, God is not dead because He rose again on the 3rd day.

I just want us all to remember that God does not want us to live with a spirit of fear.

“For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.” (2 Timothy 1:17 [NIV])

“For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” (Romans 8:15 [ESV])

Your faith will be tested but

“…don’t lose your confidence. It will bring you a great rewardI. You need endurance so that after you have done what God wants you to do, you can receive what he has promised.” (Hebrews 10:343 [NOG])

& most importantly, stay consistent!

Another reason I fell off is because I started being inconsistent with God. This past week I was wishy washy with my prayers and in turn, God was wishy washy with His hand. Treat God the way you want to be treated. If you don’t make God a priority, why should He make you a priority?

Happy Resurrection Day.

Peace & Love,

JC

P.S. It’s funny that all of this happened last week because fear was the only thing I gave up for Lent.

Leave a Reply

