What Are You Giving Permission To?

I dealt with some unnecessary drama recently that really made me sit down and ask myself, “How did this happen?” I don’t see anyone that I used to see on a regular basis because I’m no longer heavily involved on-campus and I’ve been focused on my studies. I also don’t attend many events that I used to go to because they no longer interest me.

To sum it up: I’ve been a hermit all semester.

So, back to my original question: “How did this happen?” or more specifically, “How did drama enter my life even though I’ve done nothing to provoke it?”

Alright y‘all here is the TEA.

There are 3 characters in this story: Me, Madison*, and Emma*. Madison has been in my life for a couple years now so we’re basically friends. Emma just recently came into my life so she’s more of an acquaintance.

When Emma and I linked up recently, she informed me that Madison was trying to spread fake news claiming that I “disrespected” her. Now, I haven’t seen or heard from Madison since February and there was absolutely no bad blood the last time we spoke so you can imagine my surprise. I didn’t realize I could disrespect someone I haven’t had any interaction with in 2 whole months. tumblr_olndq4IQP81vrjwbvo1_500

I WAS LIVID. Like what kind of friend does that? The least she could’ve done was talk to me personally instead of spreading lies.

After a day of being angry and another day of being annoyed, I decided it was Satan. Seemed pretty logical so I went with it but something in me knew that wasn’t quite right. Then Wednesday came along, I was listening to T.D. Jakes and he said something directly to me which was:

“Evil can not come into your life without permission.”

Whether it’s God who is allowing a storm to come your way or you decided to befriend the wrong people, evil needs permission to enter your life.

I. WAS. SHOOK.

Those 9 words made me take a moment and replay the situation with Madison one last time. Doing that made me realize that Madison didn’t say any of that to me so technically she didn’t ruin my day. It was the messenger, Emma, that ruined my day and I gave her permission to speak to me about Madison.

In the end, I realized that all of that drama entered my life because I gave it permission to enter. I let something so small bother me for 48 hours and it was all my fault.

Please learn from my mistake. If you’re struggling with recurring drama, pinpoint the true cause of it. Stop getting mad at people because of what a messenger tells you someone said about you. For all you know, they’re just trying to get you upset or break up a friendship. Do everything you can to speak to your friends DIRECTLY and that by itself should certainly bring the drama to a minimum.

Now, “I urge you, brothers and sisters, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way…” (Romans 16:17 [NIV]) & “Do not be misled: Bad company corrupts good character” ( 1 Corinthians 15:33 [NIV]).

Be careful what you give permission to.

Peace & Love,

JC

*Names were changed for privacy purposes.

Leave a Reply

