Stop Looking Over Your Shoulder.

Hello everyone and welcome back to The JC Effect!

This has been such an emotional week for me. I have almost cried at LEAST 12 times this week but I’m finally going to let the tears go today.

I know you’re thinking, “What’s wrong?” but my tears are from the complete and utter joy that I have been experiencing recently. My heart is filled with so much joy that I don’t even know what to do with it and I honestly can’t remember the last time I’ve been this excited to wake up in the morning. For the past few days, I’ve just been looking at my life and been in a state of awe because I vividly remember what my life looked like 6 months ago.

I was just going through the motions.

  • Wake up and get ready.
  • Read devotional.
  • Go to class.
  • Go home and do homework.
  • Go to sleep.
  • REPEAT.

That was it. That was all my life consisted of. Sounds miserable, right?

I wasn’t happy. I became a hermit. I hated social interactions. I always had my headphones in. I was VERY easily offended. I would go to church but get nothing from the sermon because there were a million other things going through my mind. For those of you that don’t know, I am a problem solver and I ask “Why?” A LOT. So I can easily get caught up in my thoughts and start asking myself questions like:

  • Why doesn’t she like me?
  • Why aren’t we friends anymore? We were cool last week…right?
  • Why doesn’t my friend like my pictures on IG? Is she jealous of me?
  • Why is she commenting on her pictures? Didn’t she tell me she didn’t like her?
  • Who started this rumor about me and why are people believing it?

The list goes on and on and on but I think you get the point.

And then I realized, I was so focused on what everyone else was doing and saying that I was making no progress in my own life.

It’s very hard to win your race when you’re constantly looking around at your opponent’s to see what place you’re in. If you’re in first place, you’re more likely to start slacking off. If you’re losing, you might buckle down but most people just give up.

STOP LOOKING OVER YOUR SHOULDER.

Stop making excuses for why you haven’t started your sock line. Stop wasting your time stalking that girl that you “allegedly” don’t like on Snapchat. Stop playing the comparison game. Don’t get mad at Susan for starting her YouTube channel before you started yours.

It doesn’t matter what anyone else is doing. When we get to Heaven, God is not going to ask us to give an account of Susan’s accomplishments. He’s going to ask you about what YOU did with the time He gave you.

But back to my point, I’ve been overflowing with joy and seeking approval from God instead of people has been a huge contributor to that. Ever since I’ve started focusing on making God happy and doing what HE needs me to do, life has been wonderful. Yes, the devil still tries to throw things my way but it doesn’t even phase me because I KNOW God is right beside me.

So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” – Hebrews 13:6 (NIV)

***Homework Alert***

  1. Get a piece of paper and write down 3 things that you would like to accomplish by the end of 2017.
  2. Start praying over them and CHASE AFTER IT!
  3. Watch God work.

One last thing, thank you so much for 1,500 followers on Instagram!!!! I know it may seem small but back in May, I would’ve never thought that my page would have grown so much in less than 3 months.

excited

Giveaway at 5K? 🤔 Why not? Let’s do it!

Y’all are so amazing! I appreciate your support and every single follow, like, and comment I receive.

Peace & Love,

JC

One thought on “Stop Looking Over Your Shoulder.

Leave a Reply

